Hero image

Americas Best Value Inn Marion, NC

+1 828-659-2567
4248 US-221, Marion, NC 28752 United States of America
Open Today:

Amenities

Other
  • Pool
  • Free parking
  • Free breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Star rating
  • Check-out time
  • Check-in time
Amenities
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free breakfast

Best WLM Reviews

First things first the owner is so rude, absolutely no customer service skills whatsoever and forced his way into the room to "check our floors" then insisted we leave the next day so he can clean them even though I literally brought my own vacuum cleaner. Secondly there's a reason it's so cheap, the bathroom door didn't even close all the way and the "pool" was nasty BLACK stagnant water that smelled SO bad when I walked by it, I saw two cockroaches while I was there (I've got pictures of both just don't know how to post them here) and the atmosphere was incredibly sketchy. Also my mom and I got very sick while we were there and our dogs were throwing up, possibly because of the moldy bathroom or god only knows the drugs that have been in there. It was a "non smoking room" yet the smoke detector was literally orange from residue. My honest opinion is spend $15 more a night for the place across the road.
First things first the owner Mike is so rude, absolutely no customer service skills whatsoever and forced his way into the room to "check our floors" then insisted we leave the next day so he can clean them even though I literally brought my own vacuum cleaner. Secondly there's a reason it's so cheap, the bathroom door didn't even close all the way, the chain lock for the door wasn't installed properly so it couldn't even latch and the "pool" was BLACK stagnant water that was probably the worst thing I have ever smelled, I saw two cockroaches while I was there and the atmosphere was incredibly sketchy. Also my mom and I felt very sick while we were there and our dogs got worms. It was a "non smoking room" yet the smoke detector was literally orange from residue.
Reply to owner's response: I'm not upset that you asked to clean our room. I'm upset that you didn't ask, you demanded that we let you into the room.
Positive: Location??? area was run down, and hotel was locked down tight, did not feel safe even in middle of the day. Negative: No clerk at window, the phone that is supposed to be used to call the clerk was broken. Doors to hotel were locked. Room was full of bugs, bathroom had mold all around the floor, loose tile and just nasty.
I had booked online through the parent company - Sonesta a couple of weeks ahead of my trip. Something told me last week to look for my reservation information. I couldn't find anything in my email even though I remember very clearly placing my reservation and being able to find it on the Sonesta website. I called the motel to find out about my reservation. The man on the other end of the line told me my reservation had been cancelled. I'm not sure how that happened because I didn't initiate it. He took my information over the phone and said that I would have a room ready when I arrived. I chose America's Best Value because they accept pets as almost all of the other places I checked that accepted pets were already booked.
I arrived Friday afternoon to check in. No one was at the office when I arrived. The lobby was locked and the sign said to use the phone on the wall. I picked up the phone but it didn't work/sounded like it was unplugged. It wasn't but a moment later when a man comes walking from the room block towards the office. When he was on the other side of the glass window, I told him I was here to check in and gave him my name. He asked for credit card and ID and slid a clipboard with a small slip of paper into the drawer for me to review and sign. There were very few words spoken between us. I was given a total and was told about a $50 deposit because I had brought my dog with me. I was already prepared to pay the pet fee and understood the deposit. I paid for my stay and was only given the credit card machine slip. I asked if the $50 deposit was refundable and the man said yes. I obtained my keys and drove around to the back to my room.
I entered the room and noticed it had a musty smell. Musty with strong hints of cigarette smoke. I myself do not smoke so my nose is a bit sensitive to smells. I turned the AC on in the room and noted that it was pretty loud. I checked the bed and the rest of the room for bugs and did not find any. The sink and tub had hair in it and the counter didn't appear to be wiped very well. I grabbed my bottle of odorban and sprayed everything heavily to help get rid of the musty smell.
One of the first things I do when I get to a motel room is to unplug the phone so that I don't get any random phone calls. I looked but the phone wasn't out in an obvious place. I opened the bedside table drawers and found the phone in one of the drawers, along with what looked like 2 TUMS. There was an alarm clock beside the TV and it looked unplugged as there was nothing on the display. I didn't mess with it as I didn't see the need. The lamps and ceiling appeared dusty and I'm not sure if the smoke detector on the wall was operational. The vent fan in the bathroom also did not work.
Everything else seemed fine for my stay. The bed was super comfortable and I got some decent sleep despite the loud AC unit and the clicking it made in the middle of the night. I didn't look for vending machines or an ice machine as I brought ice with me in my cooler. The place was quiet while i was there, with only maybe 3 or 4 cars total on the property.
Upon checkout, there wasn't anyone in the office so I called the motel number on my phone. At checkout, I asked for an itemized receipt of my charges but was told that there was none and the only thing they gave was the credit card slip that only had the total. So no breakdown of charges, taxes and fees. I asked again about the $50 deposit and how long it would take to be refunded and I was told that they didn't charge me the $50 deposit. I turned in my keys and headed home.
This is an older motel. It needs a LOT of love. The person who I interacted with didn't seem very hospitable. I have a family member who runs a small motel in the middle of nowhere New Mexico so I try to give other motels the benefit of the doubt and look at things from a different perspective as I know how much work it is to run a motel. Given that, the next time I am through, I will most likely look for another place to stay.
Seems to be under new owners and they are so sweet and attentive. They had much better prices than the other places nearby. Rooms are large and have just about everything, including fridge, microwave, coffee pot etc. I think they are also redoing the place.. but we did not hear any noise at all. Overall it was a pretty nice place to stay!
Owner was very nice and helpful at a late hour. Room was comfortable and affordable. Location is decent for the area..so far enjoying our stay. They seem to be working very hard on a large scale remodel which looks great so far. As a previous hotel owner with the Choice Hotel brand we know how difficult it can be to keep up with such a large project. I highly recommend this little gem!
The manager or owner is not very friendly. The room we stayed in had mold around the floor boards and breaking off and the toilet leaked underneath everytime it was flushed. Beds very uncomfortable. My husband and I booked 3 nights with priceline and only stayed 2 nights and Mike, the manager refused to refund me for the last night. Does not mention in their policy that they keep your money even if you checked out early. They screw people over!!! I have traveled from New Mexico to move with very little money and I get screwed! They are crooked people. Do not stay there. Priceline couldn't help me get my money back either.
DONT STAY HERE. Picture!! horrible experience, immediately doesn’t look good on the outside. when you walk in it smells like cigarettes and there are cigarette burns all over the bed and hair as well. we could not stay there and decided we should leave when we went back to try and leave there was no one there, we also tried to knock there was no answer not even when we tried calling. we looked through the side and saw a person working there just ignoring the whole situation. over all horrible stay definitely don’t recommend to no one.

Quick Facts About Americas Best Value Inn Marion, NC



Today

Opening Hours

How to go there

Location